FEATURED PARTNER  
  CalendarMusic SceneArts & CultureDiningNightlifeThings To See & DoLodging & TravelLocal Info  
Attractions  History & Museums  Festivals  Wineries / Breweries  Recreation Movies Shopping  Sports
 
     
























 
As a city, Williamsport's historical contributions are rather impressive by any standard ... from being the birthplace of Little League Baseball (now the largest youth sports organization in the world) to once being the "Lumber Capital of the World" and having more millionaires per capita than any city in the world ... to helping the world take flight with Lycoming airplane engines to being one of the first cities in the country with electric trolleys and being the birthplace of "Herdics" (now known worldwide as taxis) ... to being the key portal to the "Underground Railroad" (helping slaves emigrate from the South during and after the Civil War) to emanating music known around the world (such as the Christmas classic "We Three Kings Of Orient Are") and being the one-time sheet music publishing capital of the country ... and our city's "celebrities" are almost too numerous to mention, but include artist Severin Roesen, baseball great Mike Mussina, and pro football's Gary Brown.
 

And, although the 'days of old' may be long gone, what remains is yet another of Williamsport's premier attractions ... the stunning architecture of our well-preserved Victorian homes and turn-of-the-century buildings. A walk or slow drive around downtown Williamsport will leave architecture fans in awe, and Victorian Homes Magazine hails "Millionaires’ Row" (West Fourth Street) as "Pennsylvania's 'mother lode' for Victorian architecture."  For that matter, you'll find much of Williamsport brimming with impressive, thoughtfully-maintained historic architecture.
  
Our surrounding area is no less impressive in historical contributions & celebrities, either, with such notables as Thomas Edison, Joseph Priestley (the discoverer of oxygen as an element) and William Piper (often called the "Henry Ford of Aviation" and creator of the renowned Piper Cub airplane) having claimed our region as their home and place of business. Governors, Congressman, Senators, justices, and many other officials have all found there way to Washington, DC from here, as well ... and, on a side note, our beautiful streams and mountains have managed to attract other national leaders & celebrities to regularly come here to partake of our outstanding fishing and hunting, including Presidents Jimmy Carter, Herbert Hoover, and George H.W. Bush, and actress Katherine Hepburn, among many others.
 
Here you'll find our directory of local & nearby museums well worth a visit, as well as some historical trivia about Williamsport, just for fun.
Looking for our other great area attractions? Just click here!
 
World of Little League Museum & Official Store
525 Route 15, South Williamsport │ (570) 326-3607
Discover the history of Little League Baseball while also enjoying loads of interactive displays, batting and pitching areas, and hundreds of artifacts from Little League's rich history.
Carl E. Stotz Original Little League Field
1700 West Fourth Street, Williamsport
Since the second season of Little League® opened on June 3, 1940, Carl E. Stotz Field has affectionately been known to Williamsporters as Original Field. It is a place of joy and civic pride for the townspeople, a shrine to youth baseball for the rest of the world, and recently it received the distinction of being listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Thomas T. Taber Lycoming County Historical Museum
858 West Fourth Street, Williamsport │ (570) 326-3326
The Thomas T. Taber Museum of the Lycoming County Historical Society chronicles the history of our region from American Indian heritage through 20th century industry and life. Exhibits include an American Indian gallery, a Fine and Decorative Arts gallery, 19th century period rooms, and the Shempp Model Train exhibit, featuring over 300 toy trains and widely recognized as the largest collection in the country!
Peter Herdic Transportation Museum
810 Nichols Place, Williamsport │ (570) 601-3455
Discover Williamsport's rich transportation history, which includes many "firsts" such as the "Herdic" (now called a taxi) and the first electric streetcars. Explore rail cars, too!
Historic Millionaires' Row
West Fourth Street, from Elmira to Rose Streets, Williamsport
During the days of the lumber barons, Williamsport was home to more millionaires per capita than any city in the country, and countless beautiful Victorians remain today, especially along West Fourth Street, known as "Millionaires' Row." Victorian Homes Magazine calls us "PA's mother lode for Victorian architecture!" Aside from West Fourth Street, you'll also discover stunning examples of Victorian architecture on West Third Street near the downtown district and all throughout our city's neighborhoods. Download a walkng tour guide HERE►
Rowley House Museum
707 West Fourth Street, Williamsport │ (570) 323-8080
Architect Eber Culver designed this mansion on Millionaires’ Row for E.A. Rowley, one of the wealthiest men in Pennsylvania. It was completed in 1888 and is one of the most architecturally significant houses in Pennsylvania.
Christ Episcopal Church
East Fourth & Mulberry Streets, Downtown Williamsport
Built in 1841, this church is not only a stunning example of some of Williamsport's incredible church architecture, but it's also where the Rev. Dr. John Henry Hopkins, Jr. penned the timeless Christmas classic "We Three Kings Of Orient Are" in 1857.
Lycoming County Veterans Park
West Fourth Street & Wahoo Drive, Williamsport
The Lycoming County Veterans Memorial Park was established as a tribute to our fallen soldiers. Eight monuments stand to honor those who made the ultimate sacrifice during each of the major wars in the 20th century and beyond.
Lycoming Engines Museum
652 Oliver Street, Williamsport │ (570) 323-6181
Lycoming Engine’s in-house museum provides factory visitors with a glimpse into our rich history, dating back many generations. Our museum features a variety of pre-engine and engine products, audio stories, imagery, and a visual library of Lycoming advertising materials that span decades. Lycoming-built engines have powered cars (dating back to the Diesenbergs) and both military and commercial aircraft.
Riverfront Park & Canfield Island
Greevy Road, Williamsport │ (570) 323-6151
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, Riverfront Park and Canfield Island was formerly the Native American Village of Ostonwakin and home to prehistoric Native Americans (dating back as far as 1000BC). This is a place where history lives in nature and you can enjoy a recreational facility. There are bike and walking paths, a picnic pavilion, a multi-purpose field and a boat dock.
Blooming Grove Historical Society
Dunkard Church Road, Cogan Station │ (570) 419-6770
 
General John Burrows Historical Society of Montoursville
19 North Loyalsock Avenue, Montoursville │ (570) 368-7455
Piper Aviation Museum   Lock Haven
The Piper Aircraft Corporation, which maintained its headquarters in Lock Haven from 1937 until its closing in 1984, is well known for its “Cub” and for a series of aircraft bearing Native American names such as Aztec, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Comanche, Navajo, and Pawnee. Piper Aircraft Corporation grew to become the world’s leading producer of general aviation aircraft. Each year, a special "fly-in" event is held for Piper enthusiasts and pilots to share in their enjoyment of the iconic aircraft.
Sones Farm Museum   Muncy
The Sones Farm and Home Museum is keeping history alive!!! Displayed in an early 1868 hand hewed timber and wooden pined, bank barn are remarkable farm implements and equipment along with household furnishings. It takes you back to earlier days before all the modern equipment.
Mifflinburg Buggy Museum   Mifflinburg
Take a trip back through time to visit the late 19th century buggy factory, home and repository of William A. Heiss. From the late 1800s to the early 1900s, Heiss manufactured a quality line of horse drawn vehicles in his coach works. This rare survival, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has the distinction of being one of seven craft/industrial museums in the country with an original collection on its original site. It is believed to be the only museum housed in an original buggy shop.
Joseph Priestley House Museum   Northumberland
When Joseph Priestley (1733-1804) is remembered today, it’s usually for his 1774 discovery, in England, of oxygen. Few know he was a noted theologian, political progressive, and prolific author whose scientific contributions include the development of the modern timeline, the carbonation process, the identification of carbon monoxide and other gases, early experiments in electricity and an early understanding of the inter-relationship of plants and animals mediated by gases: oxygen and carbon dioxide and the role of sunlight in photosynthesis. He counted Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and James Watt among his friends.
Bill's Old Bike Barn   Route 11, Bloomsburg
Nestled in a wooded grove behind his shop of 40 plus years, Bill Morris started to fulfill his life long dream. Bill's Old Bike Barn was born. More than ten years later, they have over 100 amazing vintage motorcycles and more than 50,000 square feet dripping with some of the most extraordinary antiques from all around the world.
Packwood House Museum   Lewisburg
Packwood House Museum is among the oldest log-built structures of its kind in Pennsylvania, originally constructed as a two-story log cabin between 1796 and 1799. It initially served as a tavern and inn for river travelers along the Susquehanna.
Slifer House Museum   Lewisburg
Former home of Civil War-Era businessman Eli Slifer, the Slifer House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The house has been furnished with decorative arts, period family artifacts, and other wonderful Victorian memorabilia. The house also serves as the site for a number of activities, such as concerts, musicals, and ice cream socials.
There are eight sites in Williamsport listed in the National Register of Historic Places, including Canfield Island, the Hart Building, the Peter Herdic House, Millionaires' Row, Carl E. Stotz Original Little League Field, City Hall, Old City Hall, and the Williamsport Armory. There are a total of twenty NRHP sites in Lycoming County! See the full list on Wikipedia here.
One fourth of the entire U.S. population lives within a 300-mile radius of Williamsport.
Although it is said that dead men tell no tales, a Williamsport spook once talked with Mark Twain about the deplorable condition of his grave. It happened on New Year’s Eve, 1869. Twain was in Williamsport to deliver a speech, "Our Fellow Savages of the Sandwich Islands," at the Ulman Opera House. The 34 year-old Twain was just blossoming as a major writer, after having published "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County." After his lecture Twain visited the run-down Pine Street Cemetery, now the site of Old City Hall, and got the inspiration to write " A Curious Dream." In it a skeleton bemoans the fact that he is unable to get a wink of eternal sleep because of the confoundedly awful conditions of the cemetery.
Historians say the United States Supreme Court’s Dred Scott decision in 1857 was one of the leading causes of the Civil War. Among the high court justices casting votes in that fateful case was Robert Grier whose home still stands on West Fourth Street at the foot of Grier Street. But Grier was not the city’s most famous judge. That honor goes to Thomas Cooper who served as one of Lycoming County’s first judges. Of him Thomas Jefferson said, "Cooper is acknowledged by every enlightened man who knows him to be the greatest man in America, in the powers of mind and in acquitted information." Cooper, a physician, scientist and writer, was widely influential as a thinker in his day. As a scientist, he discovered a new way to produce potassium. He also was said to have originated the phrase "Government of the people, by the people, and for the people." Abraham Lincoln used this phrase in his Gettysburg Address.
Williamsport was the sheet music publishing capital of the country in the early 1900s.
Williamsport’s most prominent lumber baron, the wily and fabulously wealthy Peter Herdic was also an inventor. After he completed construction of a glittering resort hotel, one of the finest in the eastern United States, he invented a horse-drawn conveyance-the world’s first taxicab-to take his guests to and from the center of town. Not known for his modesty and humility, Herdic called his invention a "Herdic," a word that found its way into the English language and can be found in dictionaries today. Eventually, Herdic’s horse-drawn taxi sprouted wheels and took its place as one of the mainstays of urban transportation all over the world.
In one of the most unusual coincidences in American history, the original settlers of present-day Lycoming County declared their independence from Great Britain while, unbeknownst to them, the nation’s founding fathers were doing the same thing two hundred miles away in Philadelphia. Assembling under the legendary Tiadaghton Elm Tree at Jersey Shore, west of Williamsport, the Susquehanna Valley settlers signed and approved their own document on July 4, 1776. They then sent it to Philadelphia with two messengers. On their way they encountered hostile Indians but finally arrived in Philadelphia two weeks later, only to discover that a Declaration of Independence had already been approved.
What experts concede is one of the finest toy train collections in the United States is housed in the Thomas T. Taber Museum on West Fourth Street near downtown Williamsport.
Williamsport's Repasz Band is America's oldest brass band still performing today (founded in 1831). Perhaps their most famous performance was on April 9, 1865. Robert E. Lee, impeccably dressed in a crisp uniform complete with a sword, surrendered to Ulysses S. Grant, unimpeccably dressed in a mud-spattered private’s coat. The Williamsport Repasz Band was there, at the Appomattox Court House in Virginia, to play "Yankee Doodle" and the "Star Spangled Banner." The Repasz Band also played in Washington, DC for Presidents Taft, Roosevelt, and Reagan.
 
 
  FACEBOOK     WILLIAMSPORTLIVE™ © 2016     HOME ABOUT WILLIAMSPORTLIVE ADVERTISE CONTACT US